New AAA President in the Driver's Seat


NRMA Motoring & Services President, Alan Evans, has been elected President of the Australian Automobile Association at its Annual Conference in Hobart.

The AAA Board - representing State and Territory motoring clubs throughout Australia - elected Mr Evans to the position.

Mr Evans takes over as President from former RACQ President, Ron Gray, who has filled the AAA Board President’s position for the past two years.

Established in 1924, the Australian Automobile Association supports and co-ordinates the activities of Australian motoring clubs and represents the interests of Australian motorists nationally and internationally.

Mr Evans said he looked forward to the AAA role.  He listed some of his priorities and noted there were major challenges ahead facing motorists in upcoming Federal and State elections.

“We want to ensure that our members, and all motorists, get a fair deal,” he said.

“I am keen to build stronger alliances with the overseas clubs so that we can learn from their experiences to build a true picture of what is needed in road safety – not just in Australia but around the world – as this is a global problem,” Mr Evans said.

“I am also focussing on young drivers, to make sure we provide the necessary skills and training for these young people.”

The AAA Board also elected RAC(WA) President, Freda Crucitti, as Vice-President.

Ms Crucitti said she was honoured by the appointment and looked forward to working with the AAA Board to further motorists’ agenda.  

Related Documents